I'LL BELIEVE IN ANYTHING

avatar_128
Hey. I'm John Coates. I post/comment on anything I find interesting.

Email
LinkedIn
Twitter
Picasa

Est. Nov. 15, 2007
Fri Jun 13

http://stonesthrow.com/homeboysandman

HOMEBOY SANDMAN TOUR DATES JUNE 2014
Fri, June 6: Subterranean, CHICAGO
Sat, June 7: Division Gallery, DETROIT
Sun, June 8: New Bohemian, PITTSBURGH
Mon, June 9: Dukes Bohemian, BUFFALO
Tue, June 10: Hollow Bar, ALBANY
Wed, June 11: Johnny Brenda’s, PHILADELPHIA
Thr, June 12: Santos Party House, NEW YORK CITY
Fri, June 13: Middle East, BOSTON
Sat, June 14: Metro Gallery, BALTIMORE
Sun, June 15: Liv, WASHINGTON CD
Mon, June 16: Snug Harbor, CHARLOTTE
Tue, June 17: 529, ATLANTA

Sat Jun 7
Don’t be surprised to see Twitter become more YouTube-like, turning its home page into a real-time news platform accessible to anyone, whether they’re logged in or not. That would expand its potential user base to include, for the first time, the majority of Americans who have no interest in either tweeting or curating their own Twitter timelines. If and when that happens, I doubt we’ll be hearing much about Twitter’s growth problem—let alone its demise. Twitter is not dying. It’s on the cusp of getting much bigger.
Thu Jun 5
Mon Jun 2
Sun Jun 1
In an office setting, short interactions with co-workers, bosses, and clients can propel important ideas forward while avoiding nearly useless, hour-long meetings. While freelancing workers who communicate often with customers in similarly short bursts reap the same reward of attentive engagement. The study also suggests regularly communicating outside your industry or group to open yourself to third-party perspective. The theory goes: if you can’t say what you need to say in a few words, you don’t fully understand it. Talk to Your Team (but Make It Quick) - 99U
Wed May 14

Riding Fixed Through Iceland. Looks like hell but so much fun. Via Goldsprint Berlin

Tue May 13
Sat May 10
The ultimate problem for Apple, Beats and any other media distributor is that people want to experience art for themselves. These marketers speak in terms of data, simplification, and “music discovery,” an asinine formalization of “turning on the radio.” It’s not about discovery, the “user experience,” or their “trust” in your brand: it’s about finding a way we can arrive at music, on our own terms, free of the hype, advertisements, PR chicanery, and editorial bias you’re offering. We’re not paying you to tell us what to like: we’re paying you to provide us an easy platform through which to navigate music. Shut up, and take our money.

Chris Ott (via newspeedwayboogie)

Yes, this.

(via whitneymcn)

(Source: medium.com, via fred-wilson)

Wed Apr 30
Mark Zuckerberg has declared his company’s motto has changed from “move fast and break things” to the less catchy “move fast with stable infrastructure.” Facebook Inc (FB) news: Facebook launches mobile ad network, gives developers new tools - Seeking Alpha